The Ark at Tresillian follows the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. All assessments that take place within the setting are therefore underpinned by this. The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is built on seven areas of learning and development. These areas of learning are split into two: the ‘Prime Areas’ and the ‘Specific Areas’.

The Prime Areas are important because they lay the foundations for children’s success in all other areas of learning:

• Communication and language

• Personal, social and emotional development

• Physical development

Once a child has laid their learning foundations within the prime areas, they are then able to start achieving skills that work within the Specific Areas of learning:

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding the world

• Expressive arts and design

All activities planned at the setting are underpinned by the above areas of learning. Planning for each room is displayed within the Nursery and Pre-school, showing the themes of learning taking place that particular week. It is the role of the practitioners to then differentiate learning to ensure that every child is included. The practitioner will then write observations of individual children in play celebrating achievements. Next steps will also be planned in order to take individual children’s learning forward; this in turn will enable children to achieve their full potential. Your child’s learning journey will be formally put together by their Key Person, who will document all aspects of your child’s learning and development in a ‘Learning Journey Folder’.

Contact Us

The Ark at Tresillian
112 Fore Street

01548 852443